About the Animal Distribution Site

Animal distributions provides you with a view of the national distribution of 7 species of deer, 5 species of wallaby, thar, chamois, goat and pig (see below table).


  • Bennetts Wallaby
  • Brushtail Rock Wallaby
  • Dama Wallaby
  • Parma Wallaby
  • Swamp Wallaby
  • Chamois
  • Goat
  • Thar
  • Pig
  • Fallow Deer
  • Red Deer
  • Rusa Deer
  • Sambar Deer
  • Sika Deer
  • Wapiti
  • Whitetail Deer


The Contractor acknowledges the financial assistance of the Terrestrial and Freshwater Biodiversity Information System (TFBIS) Programme towards the preparation of this database/identification key. The TFBIS Programme is funded by the Government to help to achieve the goals of the New Zealand Biodiversity Strategy, and is administered by the Department of Conservation